Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot

I am only going to touch the very tip of the iceberg and share what I believe is but a mere blueprint to understanding the Tarot. Many believe that the Tarot is super complicated and you cannot read it unless you are able to build a space rocket. Sure, there is always more to learn about the Tarot, but that doesn’t stop you from beginning to read 🙂 I trust you will find this helpful, insightful and meaningful. May you find yourself reading the Tarot like a pro!

Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot

Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot

The Tarot has 78 cards which have two divisions, the Major Arcana consisting of 22 Trump Cards and the Minor Arcana that consists of 56 cards. The Minor Arcana is then further divided into four suits, namely Wands, Cups, Swords and Discs or Pentacles, which in turn depict the four elements fire, water, air and earth.

Thoth Tarot Aces and The Magician - Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot
Thoth Tarot Aces and The Magician. Take note that the magician has his elements at hand.

Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot

What brings the Tarot to life is that each card has its own unique meaning, its own character and its own interaction with surrounding cards in spreads. In all true essence, Tarot Cards each have their own personality.

What are spreads?

Spreads are layouts used when reading the Tarot decks. There are thousands of spreads, with new ones being designed daily. Some spreads, like the Celtic-Cross, is of the oldest known spreads and have spreads within spreads in the reading.

The first two cards, being the inner cross, relates to your inner circle, while the outer cross relates to your surroundings. Combined the complete cross relates to that which you accept and receive from your circumstances.

Thereafter you move to the wand being the masculine side. Only once you understand the cross and the wand as each whole, do you look at the Celtic-Cross in its completeness. Now further consider how each card relates to the others within the picture that is now being seen.

Da Vinci Enigma Tarot Illustrating the Celtic Cross Spread - Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot
Da Vinci Enigma Tarot Illustrating the Celtic Cross Spread – Note the 7th position is reversed.

I urge you to select your spreads according to your abilities. I strongly recommend against new readers taking on large spreads until they fully understand relationships between the cards in three-card spreads.

In Tarot For Newbies there are various three-card spreads that are really helpful, so do subscribe to download if you haven’t already.

What are reversals?

In some decks you can ‘reverse’ of the cards of the deck in order to gain deeper insights into the circumstances. Once you have randomly select cards from your deck, you then intentionally shuffle them into your question upside down.

Knowledge of reversals is of major importance, although I strongly recommend omitting reversals until you have grasped upright meanings of each Tarot card.

A reading with more reversals than uprights could well illustrate that now is not the time for a reading. Often a reader will take their deck of cards when feeling frustrated, rushed, tired… and receive mostly reversals. Incredible stuff!

Major Arcana or Trumps

Trump cards consist of 22 cards; however there is one card that is un-numbered, The Fool. See The Fool as either 0, which in turn would imply the beginning of your journey, or he could be seen as 22, at the end of your journey.

The Fool - Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot
The Fool – Tarot de Marseille

These 22 cards then form the path that the fool walks, depicting as per the Kabbalah, the various paths in the Tree of Life. One cannot move further on the tree of life unless one has overcome certain lessons and gained certain understandings. You can thereby see your self-awareness within the various stages and in turn discover more about yourself.

The Major Arcana thereby “trump” our Minor Arcana cards, as these are crucial lessons that we need to not only learn, but understand and gain wisdom from.

A brief look at each Major Arcana

0  The Fool

  • Innocent
  • Faith,
  • Free Spirit,
  • New Journey,
  • Starting Over

I Magician

  •  Reminder that you have all the tools you need!
  • Ability,
  • Resources,
  • Skill

II High Priestess

  • Deep Insight,
  • Spiritually
  • Connected,
  • Subconscious Knowledge

III Empress

  • Natural Abundance,
  • Cyclic,
  • Earthly,
  • Fertile,
  • Mother Nature.

IV Emperor

  • Authority,
  • Control,
  • Discipline,
  • Established

V Hierophant

  • Belief Structures,
  • Faith,
  • Cosmic Library,
  • Spiritual Guide

VI Lovers

  • Choices,
  • Decisions,
  • Love,
  • Partnership,
  • Relationship

VII Chariot

  • Drive,
  • Focus,
  • Goal oriented,
  • Movement,
  • Will Power

VIII Strength

  • Inner Strength,
  • Patience,
  • Self Control

IX Hermit

  • Going Inward,
  • Self-Exploration,
  • Seeking deeper meaning,
  • Privacy,
  • Soul-Searching

X Wheel of Fortune

  • At turning point,
  • good fortune,
  • life cycles,
  • karmic balance

XI Justice

  • Truth,
  • Balancing scales,
  • Causality,
  • Judiciary,
  • Legal battle,

XII Hanged Man

  • Compromise,
  • Suspension,
  • Meditation,
  • Time Out,
  • Waiting

XIII Death

  • End of Cycle,
  • Change,
  • Transformation,
  • Transition

XIV Temperance

  • Combining factors for Calming Balance,
  • serenity,
  • compromise

XV Devil

  • Ego,
  • Addictions,
  • Bondage,
  • Sexuality,
  • All things not serving a purpose.

XVI Tower

  • Sudden Change,
  • Pie in the Sky crumbling,
  • New awakening,
  • Revelation


  • New Path,
  • Guidance,
  • Faith,
  • Serene


  • Divination,
  • Fluid,
  • Cyclic,
  • Subconscious Wisdom,
  • Self-Reflective
  • Awakening

XIX Sun Energizing

  • Awakening,
  • Positivity,
  • Growth

XX Judgement

  • Calling,
  • Pardon,
  • Liberation,
  • Judgement

XXI World

  • Accomplishment,
  • Celebration,
  • Completion,
  • Destiny,
  • Pass through

The Minor Arcana

The 56 Minor Arcana divide into their four suits, each representing an element, fire, water, air and earth. Thereby, each suit has 14 cards as opposed to normal playing cards having 13, the difference being that the Tarot Court cards have 10 pip cards and King, Queen, Knight and Page.

Tarot de Marseille Suite Aces and Magician - Your Blueprint to Understanding the Tarot
Tarot de Marseille Four Suite Aces and The Magician

The Minor Arcana form the bases or ‘way-points’ for the Major Arcana during their travels. These ‘bases’ or as per the Kabbalah, the Sephiroth, will then explain to us what you need now and what you can do now in order to take responsibility for your circumstances in order to continue on your journey. You can see how the Minor Arcana assists with your day-to-day decision-making.

Be sure to subscribe and download your free copy of Tarot for Newbies as it covers a bit about:
  • Celtic Cross Tarot Spread
    Download your free printable Tarot For Newbies.

    Why Tarot

  • Choosing your Tarot deck
  • Getting started with your deck
  • Storage
  • Card a day
  • Constellations
  • Three-card Reading Spreads
  • Spreads
  • Face up or face down
  • Suits
  • Predominant Cards
  • Court Cards
  • Reversals
  • Finding your message

I do trust that this blueprint to understanding the Tarot gets you reading like a pro! Please feel free to drop me an email if you wish to have your reading done or perhaps have personal mentoring sessions, or any query that you may have. I am here for you!

Do leave your comments below as I would love to hear from you 😀

Blessed Be,

The Winning Wish


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.